TMC Candidate List For 2019 Bengal LS Poll Announced

News Frontliner Web Desk, 12 March 2019: Trinamool Congress supremo and Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee today announced names of all 42 party candidates in the state for the seven phase Lok Sabha election in April-May this year.

While announcing the names, Miss Banerjee took time in between and spoke of “Mahagathbandhan”, or the “grand alliance” of opposition parties and said, “Modi babu must go from power, we want to see him out.”

“We want to win all 42 seats from Bengal. The TMC will also contest elections in Assam, Jharkhand, Bihar, Orissa and the Andamans”, Miss Banerjee said while talking to media.

Apart from dropping as many as 10 Parliamentarians the list had several other surprises as well. Miss Banerjee discloses that those who have been dropped from the list would be drafted for party work.

Miss Banerjee announced the candidature of two Tollywood actresses – Nushrat Jahan and Mimi Chakraborty – for the Basirhat and Jadavpur seats respectively.

Veteran actress Moon Moon Sen and the sitting Trinamool MP from Bankura has been deployed against BJP’s Babul Supriyo at Asansol. Sen was the giant killer at Bankura in 2014, defeating CPM veteran Basudev Acharya.

Sitting Trinamool parliamentarian from Jadavpur, Professor Sugata Bose, apparently did not get the nod from Harvard University where he teaches history, to take time off to contest.

Regarding the Darjeeling seat, which was previously won by the BJP, Miss Banerjee announced that her party had struck an alliance with the Binay Tamang-led faction of Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (GJM). “GJM leader Amar Singh Rai will contest the election from Darjeeling on a TMC ticket. He will quit his party and join TMC to contest the polls,” she declared.

Mahua Maitra, the former JP Morgan finance top boss and sitting Trinamool legislator, has been given a ticket from Krishnanagar parliamentary constituency. She had earlier quit her job in London to come work in India. She was one of Rahul Gandhi’s laptop warrior who came to Bengal and switched to Trinamool. In 2016, she won handsomely from the Assembly seat of Karimpur in Nadia district.

“I will go to Assam, Andaman Jharkhand, Odisha. I will decide later. I can even go to Varanasi,” she said as party colleagues burst into laughter.

Forty-one per cent of Mamata Banerjee’s candidates are women.

All the 42 candidates have been invited by her to her home on Wednesday for a master-class in how to fight elections and win them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *